Return to Headlines

New Board Of Trustees Members Take Oath Of Office

board swearing inThe Spartanburg District Five Board of Trustees is welcoming six new faces!  Superintendent Dr. Randall Gary issued the oath of office to the new board members in an official ceremony at the District Five Fine Arts Center on Friday, as they were surrounded by friends and family.


Scott Clement, Millie Malone, Ott Sizemore and Sherri Taunton will all represent District 5-3, following their selection in this past November's election.  Members Kevin Goode (District 5-2) and Derek Watchorn (District 5-3) were each specially appointed to the board after two seats went unfilled.


The new trustees officially begin their duties in January, and will join Jeff Boland, Mark Cleveland, and Meredith Gergley to round out the nine person board.


Welcome to all our new Board of Trustees members!  We appreciate your service to the students and schools of Spartanburg District Five!