Return to Headlines

Finalists Selected For District Five Teacher Of The Year

Congratulations are in order for four outstanding Spartanburg District Five teachers, who have been selected as finalists for the honor of 2020-21 District Teacher of the Year!  The educators were selected from a group of 12 phenomenal teachers, representing each of the schools in District Five.  Congratulations to:



Elizabeth Koon

Media Specialist

Abner Creek Academy








Jeri Hollis

Honors English Teacher

James F. Byrnes High School







Jo Kitchens

2nd Grade Teacher

Lyman Elementary School







Jessica Glay

4th Grade Teacher

Wellford Academy





The finalists will be interviewed by a separate panel of judges, who will select the District Five Teacher of the Year for 2020-21.  That honor will be announced at end of the month.  As Teacher of the Year, the recipient represents District Five in the statewide Teacher Forum, a group of top educators from across the state of South Carolina.