Return to Headlines

District Five Announces New Names In Leadership Roles

Spartanburg District Five Schools is proud to announce two changes in district leadership, following approval from its Board of Trustees.


jeff rogers

Dr. Jeff Rogers has been selected as the District's new Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, effective July 1.  He is no stranger to District Five, as he has most recently served as the district’s Chief Technology Officer since 2016.  In that role, Dr. Rogers has managed District Five’s 1:1 learning program for 3rd-12th grade, while maintaining the infrastructure needed to support more than 9,000 digital devices.  Most recently, he has facilitated the district’s emergency shift to e-Learning as a result of the statewide school closure due to COVID-19.  In his current position, Dr. Rogers also serves as the district’s Testing Coordinator.


The lifelong educator first arrived in Spartanburg District Five in 1994, as a social studies teacher at the School-Within-A-School, the district’s first alternative school concept at James F. Byrnes High School.  Dr. Rogers would go on to spend more than two decades at Byrnes, assuming the role of Assistant Principal in 1999, and then Principal in 2005.  He remained Principal for 11 years, and led the school through many notable accomplishments including:  increasing the school report card rating from “Average” to “Excellent”, increasing AP enrollment and students receiving college credit for AP courses, becoming one of only 4 schools in South Carolina to earn College Board’s “AP District Honor Roll” distinction, increasing dual credit opportunities for students, restructuring of student leadership program to provide improved experiences, and researching and developing the school’s current Power Hour program.


Dr. Rogers earned his Bachelors in Science degree in Secondary Social Studies Education from the University of South Carolina in Spartanburg, and his Masters of Education in Secondary Social Studies from Converse College.  He has his Educational Specialist Degree in Educational Leadership, as well as his PhD in Educational Leadership, from the University of South Carolina.


"Dr. Rogers is a student focused leader of leaders who embodies our mission of ‘every child, every day’”, says Superintendent Dr. Randall Gary.  “In his transition to this new role, I am confident he will continue District Five’s track record of success, taking teaching and learning here to even greater heights.”


Theresa Taylor Also effective in July, Theresa Taylor will join District Five as our new Director of Transportation.  Taylor has spent more than two decades in school district transportation.


She comes from the Newberry County School District, where she most recently served as Director of Transportation since 2018.  Prior to that, Taylor directed the Transportation Department of Lexington District Three Schools in Batesburg-Leesville for ten years.  During her career, she has implemented a new bus discipline program, which successfully decreased referrals and student behavior incidents by more than 50%.  She also guided her school district through the purchase and installation of new school bus camera systems, to assist with bus discipline, driver training and potential accidents.  She currently serves as the President of the South Carolina Association of Pupil Transportation.


Taylor got her start on the road as a bus driver herself, first taking the wheel as a high school student in Gilbert County, transporting her fellow classmates to and from school.  Years later, after spending some time as a stay-at-home mom, her passion for transportation returned, when she attended a field trip with her own daughter.  Taylor says, “It made me remember that adult bus drivers are very passionate about every aspect of their job, from maintaining safety to the students that they care for.”


Taylor has her certificate in Business Writing from Midlands Technical College in Irmo, SC.  She has also earned certifications in:  Developing a Safety Program, Legal Issues in Public School Transportation, School Transportation Accounting, Crisis Communication, and School Transportation Security Assessment.


Taylor will officially assume the role on July 1, as current Director of Transportation, Ryan Cothran, transitions to his role of Director of Safety and Emergency Services.