Return to Headlines

District Five Honors Teachers of the Year

2018-19 Teachers of the Year Spartanburg District Five Schools said a simple "thank you" to some of its best educators this week at its annual "Teacher of the Year" banquet.  The event, held at the Piedmont Club in Spartanburg, recognizes the top teacher for 2018-19 from all 12 schools in District Five.  Following a formal dinner, Superintendent Dr. Randall Gary thanked each of the teachers for the job they do every day, and the tremendous impact they have on student's lives.

Carrie Potter, a school counselor from Lyman Elementary, was honored as the 2019-20 District Five Teacher of the Year.  Potter, a passionate advocate for student mentail health services, is a product of District Five and graduated from Byrnes High School in 1996.  In a speech at the banquet, Potter told fellow educators that "the mental health of students matters" and she's excited to use this platform to advocate for even more services in schools.

The following teachers were honored at the event:

Marie Scott (Abner Creek Academy), Anna Robinson (Duncan Elementary School of the Arts), Carrie Potter (Lyman Elementary School), Katlyn Boyter (Reidville Elementary School), Julie Henderson (River Ridge Elementary School), Jessie Cox Sill (Wellford Academy), Melissa Erwin (Beech Springs Intermediate School), Ashley Hinch (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Chris Brenner (D.R. Hill Middle School), Cathy Damm (Florence Chapel Middle School), Megan Parlow (Byrnes Freshman Academy), and Lacey Swope (Byrnes High School).

Congratulations to these outstanding educators!