Return to Headlines

District Five Celebrates Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year 2017-18 picture Some of District Five's finest educators were honored for their contributions to the classroom this month.  The District held its annual Teacher of the Year banquet at the Piedmont Club in Spartanburg on October 9.  The 2017-18 Teachers of the Year, representing all 12 schools in District Five, were recognized during the event.  Superintendent Dr. Scott Turner thanked each of the educators for their dedication to District Five students, and commitment to excellence in the classroom.

The District also honored Cassi Buys, from Byrnes High School, as the 2018-19 District Five Teacher of the Year.  Buys, an AP History and Honors Government teacher at Byrnes, will go on to compete for SC Teacher of the Year along with educators from across the state.Cassi Buys, District Five 2018-19 Teacher of the Year

The 2017-18 Teachers of the Year are:  Emily Dean (Abner Creek Academy), Amanda McKinney (Duncan Elementary School of the Arts), Rhonda Wood (Lyman Elementary School), Crystal Clark (Reidville Elementary School), Hillary Brock (River Ridge Elementary School), Bill Neyman (Wellford Academy), Kelly Watson (Beech Springs Intermediate School), Mollie Williams (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Brent Bernier (D.R. Hill Middle School), Brook Wiant (Florence Chapel Middle School), Michael Maus (Byrnes Freshman Academy) and Cassi Buys (Byrnes High School).

Congratulations to all of these outstanding educators!  Thank you for investing in the lives of our students!