Return to Headlines

2016-17 Teachers, Support Employees of the Year Announced

Cheers rang out across District Five schools last week as a special group of employees earned some very deserved recognition.  Schools and facilities across the district named their Teachers and Support Employees of the Year, an award given to very best educators and employees in District Five every year.
Superintendent Dr. Scott Turner visited each school campus, along with other D5 facilities, to congratulate the winners, and thank them for a job well done.  The overall District Five Teacher of the Year and Support Employee of the Year will be announced in late March.
This year's Teachers of the Year are:  Carrie Maxwell (Abner Creek Academy), Sarah Horan (Duncan Elementary School), Margaret Weber (Lyman Elementary School), Laura Brockman (Reidville Elementary School), Megan Turner (River Ridge Elementary School), Kim Richards (Wellford Academy), Tiffany Darling (Beech Springs Intermediate School), Andrea Forringer (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Lee Gosnell (D.R. Hill Middle School), Terri Pate (Florence Chapel Middle School), Josie Brown (Byrnes Freshman Academy), and Blake Hardee (Byrnes High School).
This year's Support Employees of the Year are:  Tomi Black (Abner Creek Academy), Charles Thomas (Duncan Elementary School), Tim Robinson (Lyman Elementary School), Elizabeth Welch (Reidville Elementary School),  Pamela Gaffney (River Ridge Elementary School), Dorian Watson (Wellford Academy), Joe Swetman (Beech Springs Intermediate School), David Barker (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Reginald Brown (D.R. Hill Middle School), Candy Fowler (Florence Chapel Middle School), Lynn Sellers (Byrnes Freshman Academy), Angie Burrell (Byrnes High School), Kim Ridgeway (Middle Tyger Community Center), Keith Thomason (District Five Maintenance), and Donna Lazar (District Office).