Return to Headlines

Support Employees Celebrated At Annual Luncheon

group In every school or classroom, there are typically many people working behind the scenes to make sure students succeed.  That is the case in District Five Schools, as we are lucky to have hundreds of employees who, while they're out of the spotlight, still contribute so much to our schools every day.  District Five said "thank you" to these valued employees at its annual "Support Employee of the Year" luncheon on October 28.
Support Employees of the Year from each school and facility were recognized, and honored for the job they do every day.
Honorees included:
Amanda Weaver (Abner Creek Academy), Eric Goode (Duncan Elementary School), Debbie Sitman (Lyman Elementary School),group Robin Petrina (Reidville Elementary School), Leslie Acree (River Ridge Elementary School), Megan Johnson (Wellford Academy), Melanie Brown (Beech Springs Intermediate School), Lesa White (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Dorian Lane (Byrnes Freshman Academy), Jerry Rice (Byrnes High School), Lois Metcalf (District Office), Jerry Hammett (Maintenance), and Carolyn Cox (Middle Tyger Community Center).
dorian Dorian Lane from Byrnes Freshman Academy was also honored as the District Five Support Employee of the Year.  Lane is a coach, and also works in the Recovery Lab assisting students who have lost credits get back on track in the classroom.
Superintendent Dr. Scott Turner thanked each of the employees, and congratulated them for their commitment to our schools and students.