Return to Headlines

District Five Teachers of the Year Honored

group District Five paid tribute to twelve of its finest teachers in October, honoring its 2015-16 Teachers of the Year.  Teachers from all twelve District Five schools were recognized during a special banquet at the Piedmont Club in Spartanburg on October 11.
 This year's honorees were:
Shannon Woodroof (Abner Creek Academy), Adam McClain (Duncan Elementary School), Sherri Rogers (Lyman Elementary School), Tonya Williams (Reidville Elementary School), Anna Taylor (River Ridge Elementary School), Katie Henderson (Wellford Academy), Ashley Bailey (Beech Springs Intermediate School), Chris Sudduth (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Marcia Kay (D.R. Hill Middle School), Kim McGaha (Florence Chapel Middle School), Marie Claire Mottet (Byrnes Freshman Academy), and Geoff Turner (Byrnes High School).
Katie Henderson of Wellford Academy was also honored for being selected as the 2016-17 District Five Teacher of the Year.Katie
Superintendent Dr. Scott Turner congratulated the teachers, and thanked each of them for their dedication to students and to District Five Schools.
Congratulations to all our honorees!