Return to Headlines

District Honors Retirees for 2015-16

retirees District Five Schools bid a fond farewell to more than two dozen of its finest employees this year, as they head into retirement.  Twenty five members of the District Five family were honored during a special retirement ceremony at the D5 Fine Arts Center on May 25.  Superintendent Dr. Scott Turner presented each retiree with a plaque of appreciation, noting their years of service, and thanked them for their dedication to the students of District Five.
The 2015-16 retirees are:
Tracy Armstrong (Florence Chapel Middle School), Anne Brewer (Berry Shoals Intermediate School), Stephen Bruner (Byrnes High School), Susan Cooper (Byrnes High School), Paula Davis (Reidville Elementary School), Christy Driggers (D.R. Hill Middle School), Iris Elliott (Duncan Elementary School), Barbi Franklin (Florence Chapel Middle School), Cheryl Gamble (River Ridge Elementary School), Rachel Gaston (River Ridge Elementary School), Jeanie Gooch (Abner Creek Academy), Peggy Harrison (Byrnes High School), Sandra Hughes (River Ridge Elementary School), Nona Krena (Duncan Elementary School), Charlene Lewis (District Transportation), Jill Martin (Lyman Elementary School), Carol Nescio (Byrnes High School), Glenda Nilsson (Duncan Elementary School), Pam Roberts (Florence Chapel Middle School), Janet Sherbert (Abner Creek Academy), Debbie Sitman (Lyman Elementary School), Kara Steward (D.R. Hill Middle School), Lyn Turner (Middle Tyger Community Center), and Pam Williams (Abner Creek Academy).
A celebratory reception was held for the honorees, along with their family and friends, following the formal ceremony.  Congratulations and thank you to all of our 2015-16 District Five retirees!